Author Archives: Rebecca Taylor

The inaugural STEM Awards 2019 for regional NSW – showcase Central West schools’ winning approach to learning

Students across the Central West region have been given a significant opportunity to showcase their excellence in STEM-based learning gained during 2019. Schools have been invited to submit either existing projects they have worked on during the year, or if they feel inspired, they can submit totally new projects for consideration in the inaugural SISP STEM Awards. (more…)

Orange female school students show off their girl power, morphing into tech superheroes!

More than 100 female students from three local Orange schools have been involved in exciting and engaging STEM Entrepreneurship workshops thanks to the support of Regional Development Australia (RDA) Central West and the STEM Industry School Partnerships Program (SISP).


SISP NRMA Future of Transport Challenge Winners

Earlier this month the awards for the SISP NRMA Future of Transport Challenge 2019 were presented to students from Mullion Creek Public School.

In partnership with NRMA, the STEM Industry School Partnership Program (SISP) challenged students to create an innovative product or service which addresses a real-world need through human-centred design thinking. The NRMA Challenge is all about investigation, collaboration and entrepreneurship to solve a local transport problem, with a focus in Orange on new transport technologies and how they can improve the delivery of local produce to customers from the Central West. (more…)

Media Release: AgriTECH goes west – AgriTECH Education Innovation workshops Lake Cargelligo

More than 120 primary and high school students from Lake Cargelligo Central School, Condobolin Public School and Euabalong West Public School participated in the AgriTECH Education Innovation Workshops held at Lake Cargelligo Central School earlier this month.

The STEM Industry School Partnership Program partnered with CQ University to deliver the workshop. Researchers and Industry experts led students through a range of exciting technology, science and design thinking activities around agriculture. (more…)

Solar Communities Program

The Federal Government has invested $5 million into the Solar Communities Program which will provide four grants of up to $12,500 for eligible community organisations for small-scale solar and battery projects. This is part of the Federal Governments $50 million investment in the Energy Efficient Communities Program.


Communities Environment Program

The Australian Government will invest more than $22 million in 2019-20 to deliver a wide range of on-ground projects that conserve, protect and sustainably manage our environment.

Under the Federal Governments Communities Environment Program, each federal electorate (including Calare) can receive up to $150,000 in grant funding for small-scale, community-led projects for that conserve, protect and sustainably manage our environment.

This program aims to support the environmental priorities of local community and environment groups in their regions and neighbourhoods. It aims to not only recover and strengthen our environment, but also to build and strengthen our communities.


Energy Efficient Communities Program – Small Business Grants

The Federal Government is investing $50 million in the Energy Efficient Communities Program, providing grants to help businesses and community organisations to save money by either installing new equipment or by reviewing and improving their energy management.

Expressions of interest are now open and should be returned by Thursday, 28 March, 2019.